Launching 2016-17 in the United States and Europe

Shaham_7091_FINAL_credit-Luke-RatrayGil Shaham kicks off a busy season on September 17, headlining the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra’s opening night gala concert under Music Director Manfred Honeck with a performance of Sarasate’s Carmen Fantasy in Heinz Hall.

He then embarks on a three-city European tour of the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto with Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia and Music Director Antonio Pappano, making stops at the Rudolfinum in Prague on September 24, Verona’s Teatro Filarmonico on September 25, and the Wiener Musikverein on September 28.

Find tickets and more information on Gil’s calendar.

U.S. Summer Festival Tour

10401520_10152892416348676_2657660589706079506_n-copy-175x175Gil Shaham pays visits to a series of music festivals this summer, making concerto appearances with major orchestras across the United States. He starts things off at the Aspen Music Festival on July 22 with Roger Sessions’ Violin Concerto with the Aspen Chamber Symphony and Patrick Summers. Next is a stop at the Caramoor Center for Music and the Arts on August 7, featuring the Brahms Violin Concerto with Pablo Heras-Casado conducting the Orchestra of St. Luke’s.

Gil joins the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and David Zinman at the Ravinia Festival on August 10 for Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2, followed by his interpretation of Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto five days later with the Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra and Charles Dutoit on August 15. While at Tanglewood, Gil also presents an evening of Bach’s complete sonatas and partitas for solo violin on August 17.

To bring his summer season to a close, Gil performs two concerts in California, first at the Hollywood Bowl on August 23 with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Joana Carneiro, and Korngold’s Violin Concerto, and then at La Jolla Summeriest, joining the Summerfest Chamber Orchestra and James Conlon on August 26 for Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2.

Explore Gil’s schedule here.

Kicking off Summer with an Asian Tour

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 4.36.31 PMGil Shaham begins his summer 2016 season with a series of chamber, orchestral, and solo performances across Asia. He first joins frequent tour partner the Sejong Soloists for performances of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons in three Korean cities, beginning with Daegu Concert House on June 27 followed by the Light of Life Chapel in Gapyeong on June 28 and the Seoul Arts Center on July 2. During his time in Asia, Gil also continues his multi-season tour of J.S. Bach’s complete sonatas and partitas for solo violin in a multimedia collaboration featuring original video art by David Michalek, with stops at the Taiwan National Performing Arts Center on June 30 and Shanghai Symphony Orchestra Hall on July 4.

Gil appears with the Singapore Symphony Orchestra on July 7, performing Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto under the baton of Lan Shui. Watch Gil’s recent performance of this work with the ensemble on Drawing his tour to a close, Gil joins the New York Philharmonic and Alan Gilbert in Shanghai on July 8 for an account of Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto.

Find tickets and more information here.

• Twitter •